Green Pumpkin Bakery

This is my favourite place for bread and I prefer it over BreadTalk.

Clockwise from top-right:
Green Pumpkin Bun – This has been the #1 bestseller at the bakery for a long time and is the bakery’s signature bun. Its appearance resembles a pumpkin with “green skin” and it’s filled with pureed pumpkin. Pumpkin lovers should try this!!


Cheese Sugar Bun – I like cheese on bread and sugar on toast so thought I would like this combination. It tasted ok – just like how a normal cheese bun sprinkled with sugar would taste like. Haha…


Orange Chocolate Bun topped with Almond flakes – I love orange-flavoured chocolate so this caught my eye instantly and I wasn’t disappointed with my choice! ^_^


Clockwise from left:
Blueberry and Raisin bun – I have a weakness for all-things blueberry and it was nice…but then again I’m biased… ^o^


Ichigo Melon Pan – YUMM!…this was very fragrant and makes you think happy strawberry thoughts when you eat it! ;D


White Cheese Bread – #2 bestseller at the bakery and I think this tastes better than the cheese sugar bun! I like this bread but my only complaint is that the size of the bun is rather small… 😦


Kuromame bread – this was introduced at the New Year as the Japanese eat kuromame (black beans) when they celebrate the new year. Not too bad. The black beans are different from the ones in Singapore and I’ve eaten them with ice-cream when I was in Japan so this brought back memories…


Green Tea Bun with Matcha Mochi – this sounded like an interesting combination so I bought it to try. The green part at the top of the bun had a fragrant taste of green tea and when you get to the middle, you will encounter a chewy texture which is the matcha-flavoured mochi. Overall, quite a tasty bun which is rather interesting due to the different textures contained within.


Takoyaki – At first I thought this was really takoyaki (and a giant one!) as it really looks like it! Actually, it was a bun, made to look like takoyaki (What was I thinking? This is a bakery so obviously they sell bread and not takoyaki!! Oops…my bad…heh heh).
The first bite was a bit salty as the piece I bit off had a bit too much of the sauce but as I continued eating, the flavours came together and I began to appreciate what the baker was trying to create in this bun. It really does taste like takoyaki and complete with a piece of octopus in it too!


Clockwise from top-left:
Ham and Cheese Sandwich
Sounds ordinary, looked ordinary but I must say it’s quite a huge serving! The ham was good and the cream cheese complemented it perfectly. In addition, the specks of black pepper sprinkled all over the bread gave it that extra kick.


Cheese Curry Doughnut – This was the non-fried version. The taste of curry and cheese together was rather unusual but it actually was quite nice.


Cream Doughnut – This is really good after you put it in the fridge as the cream in the centre will be cold and it’s like you’re eating custard or ice-cream.


Address:
GREEN PUMPKIN JAPANESE BAKERY
23 Serangoon Central
#B1-80 Nex
Singapore 556083
Tel: 66347437
http://www.greenpumpkin.com.sg/

Categories: Bakery / Cake Shop / Confectionery / Pastries / Sweets / Kuehs, Eating in Singapore, Singapore | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Green Pumpkin Bakery

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking into your web page yet again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

