Hip Katsu (吉列 派)

This restaurant’s name first caught my eye and I was wondering if it was a Japanese fusion restaurant or a wannabe. There was a long queue of people waiting to dine there during the weekend so I went back on a weekday night and managed to get a table but the restaurant still filled up rather quickly.


Table setting 🙂

Apparently the restaurant specializes in pork katsu (deep-fried pork cutlet) and other types of katsu but I wasn’t really in the mood for deep-fried stuff so I went for the teppanyaki sets instead. Couldn’t decide between beef with abalone or foie gras so I ordered both and shared them with my sister.

American Angus beef fillet and Hungary foie gras (HK$148) – The beef was tender and was nice but the foie gras was a disappointment and didn’t have much taste to it.


Australian abalone and American Angus beef sirloin (HK$158) – This set was much better than the previous one. The beef was also tender but a little chewy in some parts. I was really happy with the abalone and it was definitely tastier than the foie gras! My sister thought the sirloin was more tender than the fillet.

Both sets came with pickles, miso soup, a seasonal stewed dish, vegetable salad and Japanese rice. The pickles were nice, rice, salad and miso soup were quite the normal usual stuff but the stewed radish didn’t seem to have much flavouring as compared to what I’m used to having in authentic Japanese restaurants. The side dish at the top middle of the photo above was a strange one – I couldn’t really figure out whether it was tofu or some mochi-like substance as it was a little rubbery and wasn’t that tasty.


Verdict: The overall dining experience here was average to me but the prices are quite reasonable so I think it could be a good place for casual dining. I might go back again to try their katsu… ;D


Address:
Shop 2608-10, Level 2, Gateway Arcade, Harbour City, Kowloon, Hong Kong
九龍海港城港威商場二階 2608-10號舖

Tel: +852 2601 6238

Opening Hours: 11:30am to 12:00midnight

http://www.hipkatsu.com/

Categories: Eating in Hong Kong, Travel | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

