Sesame Street Character Breakfast at USS

I am not a morning person and typically will skip breakfast just to get a few extra winks (especially on Saturdays!!). However, I managed to drag myself out of bed earlier than usual today to go try Universal Studios Singapore’s Sesame Street Character Breakfast (at Loui’s NY Pizza Parlour).

This themed breakfast started on 29th Dec 2012 and is available on Saturdays only until 22nd February 2014 (I’m not sure if this will be extended but if you are interested, special packages are available and you can check with Guest Services or any of the USS ticketing booths for more info). Breakfast hours are between 9am – 11am and you will get priority access to the Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase ride until 11:30am.

Headed to the New York zone of the park and found several crew members wearing colourful “Sesame Street Character Breakfast” aprons (and matching character hats too!).

     

As part of our breakfast experience, we were each given a goodie bag which contained an Elmo plate. Cute!

   

Okay…now to check out the food which is supposed to be an international buffet spread…

The first thing which caught my eye was the Sesame Street decorations and the chef who was standing at the counter on the right, ready to cook eggs based on your personal preference.

Left: Those who need their cereal fix can get it here.
Right: Main buffet section.

   

There were cookies and cold cuts…

Salad…

Left: An assortment of breads
Right: The heavier stuff! – roti prata, french toast, sausages, baked beans, hash browns, mashed potatoes and pasta. Fancy having spaghetti and meatballs for breakfast! Oh well, I guess it sets the mood for the Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase ride later…

   

The highlight for me was the next section which spelled cuteness to the max!…. OMG… Kawaii!!!

Not only did they have Elmo and Cookie Monster cupcakes, but there were Oscar and Big Bird ones too!

  

Adjacent to the cupcakes were the cookies and only Elmo and Cookie Monster faces were available.

    

Gosh, I almost overlooked these chocolate brownies which were topped with white chocolate squares imprinted with Sesame Street icons.

Funnily enough, I spent more time taking pictures instead of eating! Only had 2 rounds of food… (yes, there was also pizza, star-shaped hash browns and siew mai)

    


Which characters can you get to meet and interact with?

On this day the characters appeared in the following order: Cookie Monster, Elmo, Abby Cadabby, Oscar the Grouch.

I had especially prepared this plate for Cookie Monster before approaching him…

Cookie was overly ecstatic when he saw the plate of cookies in my hand and you should have seen his expression and frantic gestures – it was really funny but too bad I didn’t capture it on video! Oh well, if you really want to see how he will react, make a trip down to USS and try offering him some cookies! ^_^


Elmo on the other hand seemed rather intrigued by the cupcake in my hand! LOL…

Here’s a look at the Elmo cupcake underneath all that cream. The eyes are actually tiny crispy chocolate balls and the cake had just the right texture and wasn’t dry. However, the red colouring did leave a slight stain on my finger.

The Cookie Monster cupcake was a chocolate cake which was nice too but I was too busy devouring it and forgot to take a photo of the cake underneath that blue cream! Whoops!!

At long last, I had the opportunity to take a picture with Abby Cadabby, who has eluded me for the past year!

Here are more pictures of Abby and her fascination with the Sesame Street Penny Press machine at Loui’s.

   

I didn’t take any pictures with Oscar the Grouch as I finally decided to sit down and actually eat. Anyway, I’ve previously had several photo ops with Oscar so it wasn’t an opportunity loss for me.


Verdict:

It was fun interacting with the Sesame Street characters. However, food-wise it was supposed to be an international spread but I felt it seemed to focus more on Western food (and sweets) rather than Asian. I would have preferred if there was also a Japanese selection, more dim sum items, noodles or perhaps local breakfast foods like mee siam, mee rebus, chwee kueh, chee cheong fun or congee! The only Asian food which I saw were roti prata with vegetable curry, pau and siew mai. Hmm…I wonder if it’s because they don’t serve much Asian cuisine on Sesame Street?

I personally feel that if they want to attract more locals, the buffet spread can be improved but overall, it is a fun dining experience for the family and the young-at-heart.


**Disclaimer**

The kind folks at Resorts World Sentosa had invited me to this breakfast but do note that this does not influence my review of the experience.

Categories: Singapore, Theme Parks, Universal Studios | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sesame Street Character Breakfast at USS

  1. Pingback: RWS Fans Day Out #4 (2013) | jaznotabi

  2. Pingback: Character Greetings at USS | jaznotabi

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

