Jamie’s Italian Singapore (pre-opening)

Jamie Oliver is opening his first restaurant in Singapore at VivoCity! I happened to walk pass the restaurant today and noticed that it seemed to be in operation. When I enquired at the door, the staff mentioned they are currently in training and dining was for their invited guests but if the public doesn’t mind that they are still undergoing training and wish to dine there, they can just walk-in (on a first-come-first-served basis). They are not accepting reservations until they are officially open.

Here’s the best part – since they are still in training, food is being offered only today at a 50% discount and beverages are 25% off the listed price! (Note: the prices listed below in this post are before the discount)

I decided to dine there for dinner since it was an offer too good to resist but was totally unprepared cos this was a random find and I did not bring my camera – all I had was my Blackberry phone which takes horrible pictures in dim lighting. Anyway, (tried my best) here are some pictures of the interior of the restaurant…


Their menus are printed on sheets of A3 paper.


Here’s what my hubby and I ordered…

GINGER BEER ($6.50) – Grated ginger, muscovado sugar, whole lemons, soda water & mint
This is home-made and there is a strong taste of freshly grated ginger in it.


HOMEMADE ITALIAN LEMONADE ($5.50) – Fresh lemon juice, sugar & sparkling water
I ordered this but didn’t take a picture of it as it looks absolutely identical to the Ginger Beer, except for the taste! The lemonade was refreshing and I preferred it over the ginger beer.


APPLE SLAW ($8.00) – Radishes, walnuts, candied beets, mint & lemon with yoghurt
Each ingredient was placed in separate sections on the plate and each had their own unique taste. You have to do your own mixing but the beets will turn everything to red! I wasn’t quite used to the taste but my hubby found it to be refreshing.


CRISPY SQUID ($11.50) – Fried squid, garlicky mayo and lemon
The batter is coated with herbs and is different from those served in other restaurants. Quite nice.


BEEF & VEAL MEATBALL ($28.50) – Juicy giant meatball slow- cooked in a tomato & garlic ragù, served with oozy polenta & black cabbage
The meatball was nice and easy to cut into and had a nice pink colour on the inside. The polenta tasted quite bland on its own and you’ll need to eat it with the tomato sauce so that it’ll taste better. Strangely halfway through this dish, I started to think of a certain animated movie…haha…


THE JAMIE’S ITALIAN BURGER ($27.50) – Wagyu steak with smoked mozzarella, pancetta, sticky balsamic onions, tomato, pickles & chillies
My hubby’s choice and he was satisfied! The burger was good but he was struggling with how to eat it as it was stacked quite high!!


JI WARM BROWNIE ($11.50) – Chocolate, raspberry & amaretto brownie with vanilla ice cream
This was like eating a thick, concentrated chocolate in the form of a creamy paste! It was a bit too sweet for me but I ate it all up. The raspberry and amaretto were not evenly distributed throughout the brownie. I ate my way from right to left and found three-quarters of it was thick chocolate and the last quarter contained the raspberry bits and amaretto. Gave my feedback and hopefully they will improve on it since they are still in training.


TIRAMISÙ ($11.50) – Coffee-flavoured trifle with orange mascarpone & chocolate
I couldn’t really taste the alcohol in this but there was a strong bitter taste which my hubby swears is alcohol (which I felt was the coffee!). It’s different from the ideal tiramisu that I like which uses a combination of rum and coffee liqueur. I don’t think I’ll order this again.


VERDICT: The service was excellent, with attentive waiting staff who are still learning how to use the latest electronic gadgets (cos you can make credit card payments at your table with their hand-held billing devices). If you like having candlelight dinners, this is one place you can go to. I wasn’t quite blown away by the food and the final bill would have been expensive if not for the discount. The food didn’t quite seem Italian to us and was leaning towards fusion…perhaps I’ll need to try their pasta and risotto dishes on my next visit.

The restaurant will be officially opening on Wednesday, 17th July 2013. If you visit then, who knows…perhaps the celebrity chef may be making an appearance during the first few days of its opening…


JAMIE’S ITALIAN
1 Harbourfront Walk
#01 165-167, VivoCity
Singapore 098585.

Tel: +65 6733 5500

Categories: Eating in Singapore, Italian | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

