Hee Kee Crab General (喜記將蟹軍) at Tsim Sha Tsui

Many years ago, after having heard about this dish called the “Typhoon Shelter Crab” (避風塘炒辣蟹), I have always wanted to try it but I’m not sure why I haven’t until now…

Hee Kee Crab General (喜記將蟹軍) is a chain of restaurants which serve this crab dish and I had initially wanted to patronize their main branch until I saw a deal on Groupon for a 3-course meal for 2 persons at HKD$298 (excluding charges for condiments and service charge) but this was only available at two of its branches. Since there was 45% savings, I thus bought the deal and ended up dining at the Tsim Sha Tsui branch which was within walking distance from the hotel which I was staying at.

Interior of the restaurant:


Sautéed Clams with Black Bean Sauce (秘製豉椒炒蜆) – These were quite tasty and the clams were evenly coated with the sauce. Surprisingly the gravy wasn’t as salty as I had imagined it to be and there was even a hint of chilli in it.


Fried Noodles with Crab Oil (招牌蟹油炒麵) – The name of the dish doesn’t sound appetising but the noodles had a nice wok hei aroma and tasted better than it looked. We were instructed (in Cantonese) by the waiter (who was quite senior in age and can qualify to be my uncle) to eat this dish first even though the clams arrived first. Initially, we didn’t quite understand the reason behind it but towards the end when we still had one last serving of noodles left on the plate, we found the noodles to be rather oily and didn’t taste as good when they had turned cold. So I guess that was what the waiter had meant earlier as the noodles are more appetizing when they are served hot from the wok.


Spicy Sautéed Crab (正宗足斤四炒辣蟹) – This crab dish is served with a mountain of deep fried garlic crumbs and the body of the crab is actually buried underneath the whole pile. I was too busy de-shelling and devouring the sweet crab meat and didn’t take another photo after I had uncovered the rest of the crab. Some people like to order a bowl of rice to eat with the fried garlic but I’m not a fan of garlic so I left most of it behind. I will definitely order this again but I guess I should eat with a friend who loves garlic and not waste a single crumb. You can specify the spiciness level that you want for this dish – i.e. mild, medium, hot, extra hot.

Overall it was a satisfying meal and the portions were more than enough for two.


Address:
Hee Kee Crab General (喜記蟹將軍)
Shop 602, 6/F, iSQUARE, 63 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong.
Phone Number: +852 2366 7565
Business Hours: Mon-Sun 12pm-10pm

Categories: Eating in Hong Kong, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

