Tai Ping Koon Restaurant (太平館餐廳) at Causeway Bay

If you are interested in East-meets-West cuisine, this is one of the places which you can check out when you are in Hong Kong. The food served at Tai Ping Koon Restaurant (太平館餐廳) was considered “western” food to Hong Kongers in the 40’s. They are most famous for their Chicken Wings poached in Swiss sauce (瑞士雞翼) and huge Soufflés (梳乎里).

As I was in the Causeway Bay area, I decided to go check out their branch there, which is located on a side street near the big shopping malls but the road wasn’t as brightly lit as those at the main shopping area.

The shopfront was quite plain-looking and I had initially walked past it without realising that it was the restaurant! I guess I was also expecting to see the restaurant’s name in English since it’s supposed to serve “western” food. The door was closed and you can’t see its interior so that also made me wonder if it was open for business!

Seating is quite limited and the decor is reminiscent of a bygone era. Even the waiters are dressed in kitschy 1950s style.

Placemat:

Menu:

Apart from the 2 recommended dishes which I had mentioned earlier, I wasn’t sure what else was good here so we took the easier option and settled on their set menu for two which included the chicken wings.

Our set meal was a bit too much for me and I was stuffed to the brim! It’s a good thing that we didn’t add on an order for the soufflé as we saw other tables having it and it was HUMONGOUS!! Definitely something which can be shared between 2-4 people and it looked like a meal in itself.

Here’s a look at what we had:

Sea Food Soup (海龍皇湯) – I found it a little amusing that ‘sea’ and ‘food’ are two separate words in the name of this dish. Anyway, this seafood soup tasted quite nice and has fresh springy prawns in it.

 


TPK Style Chicken Wings in Swiss Sauce (太平館瑞士雞翼) – We were served with 6 pieces of chicken wings which were cooked in sweet soya sauce. Swiss sauce has no connection to Switzerland so I’m not sure why it was named as such. Although some people may find this dish too sweet, I liked it as it reminded me of my late Grandma’s cooking.


Stir-Fry Mixed Vegetables with Bacon (煙肉炒雜菜) – Not bad, the vegetables were fried with a wok fragrance and the bacon was a nice complement to the dish.


Sliced Roasted Leg of Pig with Rice (燒豬脾飯) – Hmm…this also tasted like it had Swiss sauce in it! The pork was nice and tender. Plain white rice was served on a separate plate but I didn’t take a picture of it.


Dessert (甜品) – This was an Egg Pudding and its taste was too eggy for me. I think I prefer the version at Australian Dairy Company.


Overall, the food was quite nice and I’ll probably go try the soufflé next time.


Address:
Tai Ping Koon Restaurant (太平館餐廳)
6 Pak Sha Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong.
香港銅鑼灣白沙道6號

For Reservations: +852 25769161

Opening Hours: Daily 11:00-midnight (Closed during Chinese New Year)

Getting There: MTR to Causeway Bay station, take exit F and walk for about 4 min.

Categories: Eating in Hong Kong, Travel | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

