Petite Amanda

Petite Amanda is a patisserie opened by former Hong Kong model Amanda Strang, who is of French-Taiwanese descent. She left modelling to enrol at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris where she got her first certificate and subsequently served as an apprentice at Caprice in Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong, Ladurée in Paris and Jacques Genin, a small Parisian chocolatier.

Located at a corner of IFC Mall, the shop can be easily missed as it’s hidden between the huge Apple® Store and Starbucks.

There are a limited number of tables if you wish to take a coffee break in-between shopping but do note it is not easy to find one which is unoccupied. I decided to do a takeaway and enjoy the pastries in comfort of my hotel room instead.

The standard packaging used is this triangular box which looks and feels rather flimsy so I was hanging on to my precious purchase whilst making my way back using the crowded MTR. You may be pleased to know that they use tape to secure the base of the pastries to the box.

There were just too many tempting creations and I couldn’t try them all, but these were what I had bought on 2 separate occasions…

Amarina (HKD$ 43) – I was overwhelmed by its taste as I haven’t had anything like it before. The taste of the cherry jelly wasn’t overpowering (I don’t particularly like strong cherry flavours which can sometimes be found in cakes and desserts) and it paired well with the pistachio mousse. Somehow I didn’t realise the little “apple” on top was a mini macaron until I was about to eat it and I thought that was a clever idea!
Ingredients:
Sour Cherry Jelly
Light Pistachio Mousse
Pistachio Financier
Mini Macaron


Wild Berry Mille Feuille (HKD$ 45) – Mmm…loved this! The layers of puff pastry were crisp and had a lovely buttery fragrance. Fresh cream is used and it tasted wonderful! There is a version of this dessert without the fruit and jam but I like berries and thought the combination with the cream was absolutely fantastic! Do note however that this doesn’t travel well as the top layer of puff pastry may fall off during your commute.
Ingredients:
Puffy Pastry
Vanilla Light Cream
Black Currant Jelly
Blueberry


Macarons (HKD$ 20 Each) – This comes in 6 flavours but I only bought 4 to try. The pink one (Butter Cream with Strawberry Jelly Filling) wasn’t available and I don’t like coffee, so I didn’t pick the light brown one. I found the macarons not too sweet and just right for my tastebuds but they looked too pretty to be eaten, not to mention having a touch of extravagance with the gold flakes!

Yellow – Butter Cream with Passion Fruit Filling

Green – Pistachio Butter Cream

Orange – Butter Cream with Apricot Filling

Brown – Chocolate Ganache


Plaisir Sucré (HKD$ 46) – This is another favourite of mine and hazelnut lovers will like this! It’s a wonderful medley of chocolate and hazelnut flavours with a little crunch at its base. My hubby commented that it’s like eating Ferrero Rocher!
Ingredients:
Hazelnut Dacquoise
Praline Feuillete
Milk Chocolate Chantilly
Chocolate Ganache
Milk Chocolate


Chocolate Tart (HKD$ 43) – Oh wow…let’s just say that chocoholics will love this! My hubby certainly did!!
Ingredients:
Pâte Sucrée
Flourless Chocolate Sponge
Chocolate Ganache


On a separate note, most of the young female counter staff whom I encountered weren’t friendly and they do not seem to be well-versed in English as they got my orders wrong – I ordered the yellow, green, brown and orange macarons and besides verbally telling them, I did point to the macarons as well but they still got it wrong and only packed 3! In addition, I ordered a chocolate tart and thought that I didn’t need to point to it when I told them what I wanted but they ended up giving me a Caprice (a dark chocolate sponge cake with chocolate mousse and passion fruit cream) instead **shakes head**. The names of the cakes/pastries were clearly labelled in English next to the individual items, so you would have thought the staff would be familiar with them. Thankfully there was a more senior lady at the shop who spoke fluent English with a British accent and she rectified my orders.

Overall, everything we’ve tried above wasn’t too sweet and was lip smackingly good! We’ll definitely go back again if we visit Hong Kong but hopefully the service of the staff can be improved. The senior lady was very professional but I can’t say the same about the younger staff.


Address:
Petite Amanda
Shop 2096 on Podium Level 2, IFC Mall, 8 Finance Street, Central, Hong Kong.
Telephone: +852 2234 7222

Email: enquiry@petiteamanda.com

Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday: 9am to 8pm
Saturday, Sunday & Public Holidays: 10am to 8pm

Categories: Eating in Hong Kong, Travel | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

