Zaks at Discovery Bay

I was looking for a dinner spot with a view of the fireworks at Hong Kong Disneyland and this led me to Discovery Bay, which is an eco-town located on Lantau Island. Cars are not allowed in this housing estate and the only way to get in is via their bus services, ferry or cycle in. I saw many parked golf buggies along the way in.

We decided to dine at Zaks as they have an alfresco dining area which you can view the fireworks from.

We started off by ordering some drinks and I was misled by the waitress who asked me to upsize my drink to the larger one and told me the glass was only a little bit bigger! Just take a look at the Iced Lemon Tea and Shirley Temple (upsized) which we ordered!!:

In addition, the food portions here are American-sized so it’s best to order wisely. Here’s a look at how big the portions are (clearly it made someone very happy…LOL):


Super Hawaiian Tropical Pizza (超級夏威夷薄餅) – With pineapple, thousand island sauce + crispy bacon & ham (HK$130)
I must say that this was quite good! Thankfully it was a thin-crust pizza, otherwise I don’t think we could have finished it!


Seafood Fettucine (海鮮闊麵) – A mixed catch of fresh seafood cooked in a rich tomato sauce with a touch of cream and topped with a king prawn (HK$190)
I wasn’t too impressed with this dish – I mean tastewise it was just average to me as I prefer a richer taste of tomato if it is a tomato-based sauce.


Banoffi Pie (焦糖香蕉蛋糕) – Caramel base cake with fresh bananas, caramel sauce, whipped cream & ice-cream (HK$70)
This was really good! Initially, I was a little skeptical when I read some reviews which raved about this but clearly this dessert exceeded my expectations and I was pleasantly surprised by how good it tasted. Again the portion is quite big so if you are planning to order some main courses, it’s best to share the dessert unless you are confident that you can finish it by yourself.


Now for the fireworks… Hong Kong Disneyland is located just across the bay and you can see their nightly fireworks display from here but note that it’s still a distance away. Check the schedule from the theme park’s website so that you can time your dinner accordingly if you want to watch the fireworks display.

Note that you’ll only get to see the fireworks minus the sound, so somehow it didn’t really feel the same to me (but still it was a nice experience).

Here’s a short video clip which I recorded:


Address:
ZAKS
Shop G04, G/F & 103, 1/F, D’Deck, Discovery Bay Plaza,
Discovery Bay, Lantau Island, Hong Kong.

Telephone:  +852 2987 6232

Email:  zaks@casteloconcepts.com

Opening Hours:  Daily 8am to 11pm

Getting There:  From Sunny Bay MTR station, take bus DB03R to D’Deck/Discovery Bay Plaza which is the last stop on the bus route.

Apologies…I don’t have any photos of the bus as I ran to board it just before it was about to leave, so I didn’t have time to snap any pictures of it.

Information board at Discovery Bay Plaza:

To get back to Sunny Bay MTR, at the Discovery Bay Plaza bus terminal, locate where bus DB03R is parked and board the one which has the lights on and the driver inside. It was too dark to take the exterior of the bus so I took this photo from the bus.

Ferry services to Discovery Bay are also available from Central Pier 3 on Hong Kong Island. You can get a free ferry ride back to Central if you spend HK$120 at the restaurant.

Check http://dbay.hk or http://www.ddeck.com.hk for the latest transport information.

Categories: Eating in Hong Kong, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

