Pine Garden’s Cake (松园)

I was delighted to find this bakery in the HDB heartlands which sells traditional style cakes that were popular during my parents’/grandparents’ younger days, as well as modern cakes with variety of interesting flavours!

My maiden purchase comprised mostly of the nostalgic cakes from my childhood days…

  • Roasted Peanut Buttercream
  • Chocolate Rice Buttercream
  • Nostalgic Rainbow Buttercream
  • Chocolate Eclair
  • Strawberry Eclair


A closer look at the Rainbow Buttercream cake:


Roasted Peanut Buttercream cake:

All the above sponge cakes were very soft and fluffy and the various flavours were just the way I remembered them to be. I believe they may have tweaked the recipe for the cream as I remembered I didn’t like the cream when I was little because it had an oily aftertaste, but the cream which they use here is lighter and the jam isn’t too sweet. You won’t feel like you’ve had too much cake after you’ve eaten these.


I tried some of their other interesting cakes on subsequent visits and some of the flavours shown below can be bought either as individual slices or as a complete cake.


Orange Zest Chocolate – I love chocolate and orange so this was a perfect combination for me. The chocolate cake was rich enough and combined with the citrusy fragrance, it was a delight to the tastebuds!


Nuttymisu – It’s like eating tiramisu with lots of nuts in it. An interesting combination and quite nice.


Cat Mountain King Durian – Ohh…durian lovers may like this. There are obvious bits of durian flesh sandwiched between the sponge layers. Can you see the fibres?


Pulut Hitam Cake – A yummy creation which tastes really like the dessert and is just as fragrant, except for the fact that it is in cake form.


Mango Passionfruit – The taste of mango with passionfruit was very refreshing and I really enjoyed this cake!


Butter Cupcake – This comes topped with various popular character figurines. There were too many to choose from so I picked Elmo.


Peach Cake – This looks and tastes like something I may have eaten during my childhood but I can’t put my finger on when it was. If you like peaches, you’ll definitely like this but I’ve only seen this once or twice at the bakery, so either they don’t make it very often or it’s sold out pretty quickly.


Overall, the cakes here are really good and it’s hard to choose the best one as all are tasty and have the same soft, fluffy texture, with cream that is fragrant and light on the tastebuds, plus the jam (if any is used) isn’t too sweet. However, out of everything that I have tried to-date, I didn’t like the cupcake (i.e. the one with the figurine) as it was more like a muffin and the texture of the cake was a bit harder.


Lucky Bundle (吉祥福) – For Chinese New Year (CNY) 2014, this is is being sold at $38.80 and reminds me of fukubukuro (福袋), which is popular with the Japanese. It contains mystery CNY goodies worth $68.80. Well, I was undecided on which new year goodies to buy, so I left it to fate as I believed whatever I’ll get should taste good.

So what was in the lucky bundle? I was quite happy with its contents:

Clockwise from Top Left:

  • Red Tea Roselle Cookies – These are red tea infused cookies with bits of roselle flowers for a tangy taste.
  • Spicy Shrimp Rolls
  • Pineapple Tarts
  • Ang Bao containing vouchers
  • Red Velvet Cookies – This crispy cookie is studded with white chocolate bits.
  • Red Bean Lotus Seed Cookies


Address:
Pine Garden’s Cake
Blk 529, Ang Mo Kio Ave 10,
#01-2369
Singapore 560529.

Phone: +65 64576159

Opening Hours: Daily 08:30 – 21:30, but they may close for several days during the Chinese New Year (check their website or Facebook page for more details).

Categories: Bakery / Cake Shop / Confectionery / Pastries / Sweets / Kuehs, Eating in Singapore | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

