Bee Kee Wanton Noodles (美記雲吞面)

Bee Kee Wanton Noodles (美記雲吞面) opened in March 2014 and my friend Vincent raved about their wonton noodles, so I went to try it last month but had been too busy to blog about it.

However, I had recently heard that they also sell Truffle Noodles although it is not on the menu (i.e. secret menu), thus I went back to find out if it was true…

When I arrived at the stall, I enquired about the Truffle Noodles and guess what – they do indeed sell it!! Curious moi then asked why it wasn’t listed on the menu and I was told it was because this dish takes a longer time to prepare!

You can order the truffle version of either the wonton noodles or braised pork soft bone noodles. Their recommendation is to have it with the braised pork and mee pok instead of mee kia as the mee pok has more surface area to be able to soak up the truffle gravy.

Ok, I went with the recommended combination and was eagerly anticipating how it would taste, whilst waiting for the dish to be prepared…

Braised Pork Soft Bone Truffle Noodles (滷肉軟骨松露面) – $6.50 per serving
This is more expensive than the other items on their menu but it is still cheaper than having truffle noodles in a restaurant! Was worth the price? I must say that I do like it and agree that the mee pok can soak up the truffle gravy which is found buried beneath the noodles. Make sure you mix well in order to evenly coat the noodles with the sauce! This will then result in every mouthful of the noodles having a fragrant mushroomy taste and it was a symphony for my taste buds! (Oops…I didn’t take a picture of the gravy as I was too busy slurping it all up! LOL…)

Loved the flavour of the braised pork with soft bones as it was well marinated, the meat wasn’t dry and it tasted somewhat like those canned stewed pork which you can find in the supermarkets. I was expecting some crunch from the bones when I bit into the tasty morsels of meat but to my surprise the bones were so soft that you don’t even know they’re there!

I don’t usually eat mee pok as I find the kansui (lye water) taste is stronger in mee pok than mee kia. However, the noodles here don’t have that alkaline taste and that suited me just fine!


The next few dishes were what I had tried on my first visit…

Wanton in Chilli Oil Vinegar (紅油抄手) – My friends ordered this and I sampled one. The wonton went well with the sourness of the vinegar and spiciness of the chilli oil – somehow its taste reminded me of bak chor mee but without the noodles! I love vinegar so this dish appealed to me very much! Haha…


Original Wanton Noodles (招牌雲吞面) – This noodle dish comes with aburi char siew and both steamed and fried wontons. The noodles were nice and springy but I felt the sauce seemed to lack something and I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. I then had an idea and took the sauce from the “Wanton in Chilli Oil Vinegar” dish, mixed it into the noodles and voila – it was perfect! My hubby scolded me as this was wonton mee and not bak chor mee but I felt the culmination of flavours was perfect and the noodles tasted good with the vinegar and chilli oil!!


Verdict:  The braised pork soft bone meat was delicious and I will most definitely go back again for the truffle noodles! This is one of the places to go to if you need an inexpensive truffle fix! ^_^


Address:
Bee Kee Wanton Noodles (美記雲吞面)
Blk 2, Lorong Lew Lian
Chuen Kee Restaurant
Singapore 531002.

Tel: +65 9327 2213

Opening Hours:
Tuesday-Sunday 7:30am – 2:30pm
Closed on Monday.

Getting There:
Nearest MRT: Serangoon station, take exit D and walk for about 5 min.

Categories: Chinese, Eating in Singapore, Local | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

