Yan Ji Seafood Soup (炎記海鮮湯)

I chanced upon some reviews of this stall selling seafood soup in Woodlands and decided to go check it out as they have a version with crayfish!

Yan Ji Seafood Soup is located at the Woodlands Centre Road Food Centre, just a stone’s throw from the Woodlands Checkpoint. It was rather inconvenient for me to get there as I live in the north-east of the island, but curiosity got the better of me! ^_^

Since it took some effort to travel there, I decided to go for the most expensive item on their menu – Crayfish Seafood Soup (蝦婆海鮮湯)! This is being sold at 2 prices – $10 and $12. When I asked what the difference was between the two, I was told that the type of fish is different – i.e. $10 comes with “normal fish” (i.e. dory) and $12 comes with garoupa.

The uncle also asked if I wanted to order their pig trotters but both my hubby and I are not fans of this dish and so we gave it a miss. I did however add on some fish maw ($2) to my seafood soup.

I have to say that this is the most expensive seafood soup that I’ve ordered to-date at a hawker centre!

The ingredients in this bowl included 1 crayfish, prawns, garoupa, fish maw, meatballs and tomato. I liked the taste of the flavourful soup, which seemed to have some slivers of dried scallop in it, but felt that the soup was a little on the salty side, so you’ll definitely need to have this with rice! Typically seafood soups don’t have meatballs in them, so I thought this was quite unique and tasty as the minced meat seemed to be mixed with bits of dried sole fish!


Address:

Yan Ji Seafood Soup (炎記海鮮湯)
Blk 4A, Woodlands Centre Road
#02-11 Woodlands Centre Road Food Centre
Singapore 731004.

[Map]

Opening Hours: Tues-Sun 11:00 – 20:30 (Closed on Mon)

Categories: Eating in Singapore, Local, Seafood | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

