Fuji-Q Highland 「富士急ハイランド」 (Part 1 of 3)

After hearing about Fuji-Q Highland「富士急ハイランド」 for many years, I finally made a trip there to satisfy my roller coaster fix!

This theme park has 4 extreme roller coasters which each got their names into the Guinness Book of Records and it certainly sounded like a major adrenaline rush was in store for me!

Of course besides the rides that I’ve mentioned, there are other attractions and rides which are suitable for those who prefer something less challenging.

I will be splitting this Fuji-Q Highland write-up into 3 posts as I have close to 200 pictures and there are just too many attractions to be featured in a single post! However, I must clarify that I didn’t have time to experience all of the attractions (I had my fixed priorities! LOL..) as most of my time was spent queuing for the rides that I most wanted to get on. However, I did manage to walk around the park to take photos of the various attractions (where possible) so that you can get an idea of what to expect if you decide to visit this theme park.

Part 1 features the entrance to the park, different types of tickets available and the “Screamer” attractions (i.e. Thrill rides).

Part 2 showcases the “Horror“, “Challenge & Happy” and the “Kids” attractions.

Finally, Part 3 tells you more about the themed zones “Thomas Land” and “La ville de Gaspard et Lisa“, eating places within the theme park, the park’s biggest gift shop Fujiyama and directions on “how to get to the theme park.


TICKETS

Visitors can buy a basic admission ticket (¥1400) which doesn’t include rides and then buy separate tickets in the park for those rides that you want to experience. The good thing about this basic ticket is that if you have friends or family who are accompanying you but don’t want to take any of the rides, they can buy this ticket which is cheaper. If you are staying at Highland Resort Hotel, each guest is given free entry to the park for the duration of your stay (i.e. complimentary basic admission ticket) as shown below.

Alternatively, you can buy a “Free Pass” (¥5200), which includes both admission and unlimited rides (except those marked as not applicable to Free Pass holders) – I find this more convenient than having to buy separate tickets for each ride. Just work out which type of ticket is most cost effective for you. My ticket below was at a discounted price since I was a hotel guest.

Here’s a picture of one of the ride ticketing machines found at the park (i.e. if you had bought just the basic ticket and want to add on some rides):

Even though the prices to all rides/attractions are shown on the machine, you won’t be able to buy tickets to all of them at a single machine. For example, the one in this next photo only sells tickets for the Red Tower:

I took another photo at another ticketing machine and this one sells tickets for both Tondemina and Mad Mouse:


PARK ENTRANCE

Entrance leading to Fuji-Q Highland from the Highway Bus Stop / Fujikyu Highland Resort Bus Stop.

This door actually leads into a huge gift shop and you’ll need to walk through it to get to the main entrance of the theme park.

Just before you enter the gift shop, lockers are available for rent if you need to store any bulky items (e.g. luggage) which you do not intend to bring into the park.

Along the way, you will also pass through La ville de Gaspard et Lisa but I will talk more about this area later in Part 3.

Now, this is the official main entrance to the park:

There are actually 2 main entrances to the theme park and the other one is located at the opposite end of the park, which is nearer to the Fujikyu Highland station「富士急ハイランド駅」. As I didn’t enter from there, here’s a picture of its exit. LOL…



SCREAMER

For my first ride of the day, I decided to take it easy and challenge the King of Coasters, FUJIYAMA as this seemed like the mildest ride out of the 4 extreme coasters.

Some details about this coaster:
Length: 2045m
Maximum Height: 79m
Maximum Speed: 130km/h
Maximum Drop: 70m

Note to riders:
Height Limit: At least 120cm
Age Limit: Up to 62
Ticket Price (per person): ¥1000

This coaster previously held the following records:

  • World’s Tallest Complete Circuit Roller Coaster (July 1996–May 2000)
  • World’s Tallest Roller Coaster (July 1996–January 1997)
  • World’s Tallest Roller Coaster Drop (July 1996–January 1997)
  • World’s Fastest Roller Coaster (July 1996–January 1997)

The queue was about 45min long…

Complimentary lockers are available at the ride platform for you to store your valuables and loose articles before going on the ride. Remember to take the locker key with you and don’t drop it during the ride!

As the coaster slowly climbed to reach the 79m mark, there were signs at various points to tell you how high up you were and when we finally saw 79m, we knew what was about to happen next!… *screams*

I have to say that the drop from 79m was quite scary! Ride pictures are available but I didn’t buy the one here as I didn’t really pose for it. ^_^

Here’s a video of the drop:

For a limited period, the Fujiyama coaster track will be illuminated after dark. I think it would be fun to ride the coaster in the dark with the track being lit!

Unfortunately during my visit, it was still daylight when the park closed (at 6pm), thus I didn’t get a chance to experience taking the ride with the night illumination, but I did get some pictures of the track at night (not all sections were lighted up as shown on the poster)!

Non-thrill seekers can pose for pictures with Air Fujiyama, located opposite the entrance to the Fujiyama coaster ride. There’s a button for you to activate the fan, which will blow wind into your face to simulate the look and feel of riding the actual coaster! (and no, I didn’t try it but I saw some people who did) The button can only be activated after you have sat down in the vehicle, so you’ll definitely need someone to help with this.

Next, I headed over to Eejanaika and you’ll need to walk through this area to get to the building which houses the ride.

It certainly feels like you taken a walk back into the past as this place has the look of a traditional Japanese street scene.

There’s a shop selling ride merchandise, as well as local specialties of the region, some of which are items which are only sold here and cannot be found elsewhere.

There are some machines which you can use for printing labels/stickers with your name on them…

…and also fortune telling machines which will dispense your luck on a strip of paper!


EEJANAIKA「ええじゃないか」

This was the 2nd coaster which I went on and based on what I had heard about this ride, it sounded like I would probably experience the feeling of being trapped inside a washing machine, as you may experience up to 14 inversions on this ride!

The waiting time was about an hour, even though the sign said 40min!

Eejanaika is the world’s second 4th dimension roller coaster and throughout the ride, riders will go through up to 14 inversions and most of these inversions are accomplished by the seats rotating forward or backward 360 degrees, rather than actually inverting the track.

Some details about this coaster:
Length: 1153m
Maximum Height: 76m
Maximum Speed: 126km/h

Note to riders:
Height Limit: 130cm-200cm
Age Limit: 10-60
Ticket Price (per person): ¥1000

There’s a colourful mural encircling the words ええ (pronounced as ‘ay’ or ‘eh?’) found on the ceiling at the ride platform.

Snapped a quick picture using my mobile phone before going on the ride.

Oh boy…this was the first climb on the ride and you’ll ascend facing backwards, so this means that you can’t see the first drop!!

I went down backwards and my seat itself also did a flip – it was so confusing!!

Check out this video of the coaster:

Initially, I was rather apprehensive about taking this ride as I wasn’t sure if I would be able to handle so many inversions and was expecting myself to end up feeling giddy and nauseous after the ride. Thus, I decided to take this coaster before going for lunch (just in case!) but the ride wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be! I even considered taking it one more time if not for the long queue and other rides which I had yet to experience!

Verdict: It was definitely the craziest ride ever!!! Reason being that you don’t even know whether you are right-side up or upside down due to the numerous inversions! I didn’t even have time to look around and enjoy the scenery as I was in a confused state! (your photo is taken during this ride but I was too distracted to take notice of where the camera was!) LOL…

Ok…two down and two more to go… (i.e. in terms of extreme coasters)


World Bucchigiri Coaster DODONPA「ドドンパ」

This coaster has won records for fastest acceleration and fastest roller coaster in the world!

  

Some details about this coaster:
Length: 1189m
Maximum Height: 52m
Maximum Speed: 172km/h

Note to riders:
Height Limit: At least 130cm
Age Limit: 10-60
Ticket Price (per person): ¥1000

There were two different ride vehicles being used.

Ride vehicle and complimentary lockers at the ride platform:

  

Here are the two different ride vehicles going around the track.

 

I do agree that it was extremely fast and I ended up with a slight headache after the ride. The G-forces were probably too strong for me and I don’t think I want to ride this again!…

Your picture will be taken on this ride so get ready to pose when you see the giant camera. I managed to strike the right pose but unfortunately the speed and wind had caused my hair to be plastered across my face, so I ended up looking like Cousin Itt and was totally unrecognizable in the picture, thus I didn’t buy it. LOL!…

Check out the video:


Finally, it was time for TAKABISHA「高飛車」! …

This coaster is still the current record holder for the world’s steepest roller coaster, with a 121 degree, beyond vertical drop.

Some details about this coaster:
Total Length: 1004m
Maximum Speed: 100km/h
Maximum Drop Angle: 121 degrees

Note to riders:
Height Limit: At least 130cm
Age Limit: 10-60
Ticket Price (per person): ¥1000

The climb to the top is at a 90-degree angle and you are literally lying on your back and moving upwards, so the only thing you’ll see is the sky!

Once you get over the top, the ride vehicle will stop for several seconds for you to enjoy the view, but it’s a heart-pounding moment as you are anticipating the sudden drop! The Japanese guy seated next to me repeatedly exclaimed “停まって??!! 停まって??!!” (i.e. why has it stopped??) and I was trying very hard not to laugh! :p

Here’s a look at the coaster (especially that 121 degree drop!):

I survived!! It wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be – perhaps it was because I was seated at the extreme right of the second row and couldn’t really see the drop as my view was blocked by the people in the front row.

This is the souvenir shop which the ride exits at and also where the ride photos can be purchased from.

Finally, a ride photo that looked right although it was rather unglam!


Tondemina「トンデミーナ」

Note to riders:
Height Limit: 137cm-195cm
Age Limit: Up to 59
Ticket Price: ¥800

This ride looks scary but is actually more like a swing to me (i.e. like a pendulum), so it can’t really be compared to the 4 extreme coasters.


Red Tower「レッド・タワー」

Note to riders:
Minimum Height: 130cm
Age Limit: Up to 59
Ticket Price: ¥600

This was a nice relaxing ride by my standards, where you can sit back and enjoy the view, although the initial drop may be a bit daunting for some. Some lucky riders will be seated on the side which faces Mount Fuji, so they can enjoy the scenery on a clear (and cloudless!) day.

Here’s my video:


Panic Clock「パニック・ロック」

Note to riders:
Minimum Height: 130cm
Age Limit: Up to 59
Ticket Price: ¥500

This ride rotates according to the movements of a clock and is probably one of the rides in the park which may make you dizzy.

You can see the ride in action in the background of the next picture. I thought it was funny as there was a recommended 告白 spot here! What do you think – would you profess your love to your girlfriend/boyfriend at this spot in the middle of the theme park??


TEKKOTSU BANCHO「鉄骨番長」

Note to riders:
Minimum Height: 110cm
Age Limit: Up to 64
Ticket Price: ¥800

This is like a rotating swing which is suspended from a 59m-high tower, with a speed of 51km/h and the highest you will be lifted to is 47m above ground. Unfortunately, I overlooked a side path and missed it! (totally forgot about this attraction until I left the park!) 😦


Photo Credit: Fuji-Q Highland


Great Zaboon「クール・ジャッパーン」

Note to riders:
Minimum Height: 120cm
Age Limit: Up to 59
Ticket Price: ¥800

It was a cold day and I forgot to bring a poncho with me, plus I didn’t want to get my winter coat soaking wet, so I decided not to go on this one.

I have to say that this particular ride really creates a big splash! I’ve never seen a water ride which disperses such an enormous spray of water!! Be warned – spectators are also in danger of getting soaked! Watch the video and see the people running for cover!


Nagashimasuka「ナガシマスカ」

Note to riders:
Minimum Height: 110cm
Age Limit: Up to 64
Ticket Price: ¥800

There are 2 huge manekineko「招き猫」 here which look quite cute! However, as mentioned earlier, I felt the weather was too cold for water rides and thus I skipped this one too. It looked like fun though!


Mad Mouse「マッド・マウス」

Note to riders:
Minimum Height: 110cm
Age Limit: Up to 64

This was under maintenance during my visit and it looked like a kiddy coaster to me.


Haha…even though there’s still Parts 2 and 3 to this post, I felt that I had already conquered Fuji-Q Highland! :p


Continue reading…

» Part 2 (“Horror”, “Challenge & Happy” and “Kids” attractions).
» Part 3 (“Thomas Land”, “La ville de Gaspard et Lisa”, Fujiyama gift shop, plus directions on how to get to the theme park).

Categories: Fujiyoshida (富士吉田), Japan, Theme Parks, Travel, Yamanashi Prefecture (山梨県) | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Fuji-Q Highland 「富士急ハイランド」 (Part 1 of 3)

  1. J

    Were there characters? Did they sign? Haha I am such a character fan…

    Like

  2. J

    Ah, that’s a pity. It would have been great to have at least some characters from Thomas and Friends there since they have an area. I’ve been to Fuji-Q before and unfortunately I didn’t see any 😦 However, I’ve seen characters at almost every other park (i.e. Disney, Universal, Movie World, Lotte World, Everland). They are just fun and make your day memorable.

    Like

  3. xxxx

    Seems like you managed to ride the 4 huge coasters and a few other rides in a single day? Do you think I would be able to do the same if I were to go during early October? 😦

    Because I’ve heard that some people didn’t even manage to ride the 4 coasters even though they went right at the opening time, and I’m worried that it’ll happen to me too…

    Like

    • Yes, I did all 4 extreme coasters in one day. You should be able to do likewise if you avoid visiting the theme park on weekends, school holidays and public holidays. In 2015, 12th October is a public holiday (Health and Sports Day) and half-term school holidays are between 24th to 31st October. Target to arrive at the park first thing in the morning and be prepared to queue about 1-2 hours for each ride. It tends to get more crowded in the afternoon when there is a sudden influx of students (probably visiting the park after getting out from school). I did the coasters in the same sequence as I wrote them in this post and I even had time to do Tondemina, Red Tower, The Great Fluffy Sky Adventure – A Little Ride on the Clouds, Gegege no Kitaro’s Monster House and Paris Cart. Had a quick lunch at Mos Burger (a Japanese fast food outlet) before heading off to the next ride.

      Plan your route carefully – Fujiyama, Dodonpa and Takabisha are actually located at the same end of the park, so you may want to do all 3 before heading over to Eejanaika, which is at the opposite end of the park. I did Fujiyama first, then ran over to Eejanaika at the other end as I was afraid that if I took this ride after lunch, I might throw up after experiencing the multiple inversions. It turned out that I was fine after the ride, but I can’t speak for everyone else – basically you need to know how much “stress” your body can take before going on the rides. ^_^

      Like

  4. Ashley

    Hi. Thanks for the sharing. I plan to visit the place during my Tokyo trip in Feb17. I will go there during weekday (Tues). Not sure if it will be crowded or not. If I were to follow the sequence suggested, i.e. Fujiyama, DODONPA, TAKABISHA then finally eejanaika. Will it be sufficient time for me to complete all these within 6 hrs? Btw, I actually plan to visit the “Super Scary Labyrinth of Fear” Ghost house before Fujiyama as I heard that it will be closed early once reached the maximum headcounts. Is this fine? Besides, even though the operating hour is until 6pm, will all the thrill ride operate until 6pm? Any early closure for any particular ride? I did read another sharing that Fujiyama actually operates till late as compared to the other 3. Is this true? Last but not least, initially I plan to visit the park at 12pm. Will it be too late? I will purchase the free pass online and redeem on that day. Will this buy me more time from queuing up for the tickets? Thanks!

    Like

    • Hi Ashley,

      Weekdays should be less crowded but you should plan to arrive there when the park opens as it tends to get crowded after lunch when the crowds start arriving (probably the “after school” crowd and sometimes there are school excursion groups).

      The park opening hours vary by date. You can check this link for the February schedule – http://www.fujiq.jp/calendar/monthly_1-3.html

      I’m not sure if you will be able to complete everything if you arrive at 12pm as the queues for the extreme coasters can be 1-2 hours long, again depending on the crowd that day. I did not have time to take the same rides more than once, as most of my day was spent queuing!

      Using the free pass will save you time from buying separate tickets for every single ride/attraction. However, note that not everything is included under the free pass, so it’s best to check on their website if the free pass includes all the attractions that you want to cover.

      As for the “Super Scary Labyrinth of Fear”, according to their website (http://www.fujiq.jp/en/attraction/senritsu.html) only 1000-1500 guests are allowed to enter per day, so if the park is crowded that day and you arrive late, then you run the risk of not being able to experience this attraction. At the time when I visited the park, not many people ventured into the haunted house, but I won’t be able to predict the situation on the day that you visit. Note that you’ll need to purchase a separate ticket (500 yen) as this is not covered under the free pass. Their Japanese website has more details – http://www.fujiq.jp/attraction/senritsu.html. When you see the words “フリーパス不可” it means “free pass not allowed”.

      You can print out this discount coupon and present it at the ticket booth outside the entrance of the park when you purchase your free pass – http://www.fujiq.jp/ticket/coupon_dl.html. With this coupon, you’ll only need to pay 5300 yen for an adult free pass ticket (usual price: 5700 yen). One coupon can be used to purchase up to 5 free pass tickets.

      Like

      • Ashley

        Thanks for replying: )
        I’ve checked again their site. Under the “Calendar” part, noted that Dodonpa seems no longer operating. This is pretty sad. Hopefully my understanding is correct. Anyway, fingers crossed for my upcoming trip. 🙂

        Like

      • Oh yes, you’re right – just checked the Dodonpa page on their Japanese website and the ride has been closed since 2nd Oct 2016 due to “course layout renewal” and it will be re-opening in July 2017.

        Like

  5. Zack

    Hi ,

    I will be going to lake kawaguchiko from shinjuku via bus. But may i know how to get to Fuji Q highland from kawaguchiko station ?

    Thankyou!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.